Chocolate Zucchini.

IMG_2014IMG_2015IMG_2016IMG_2018 When it comes to paper writing season, it seems like I can find about a thousand distractions to keep me from the mundane task of writing paper after paper. My favorite one? Baking. I love the way fresh baking makes my apartment feel so warm, and smell amazing. I had a couple of zucchinis in my fridge that I forgot about, and decided to that a chocolate zucchini loaf would be the perfect way to get rid of them.  I used a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks, the one I purchased at BabycakesNYC, which is a bakery I frequent every time I am in New York.  Although I am no longer vegan, the gluten free aspect this bakery offers ensures that there will always be something I can feel good about eating. The recipe I used is actually for a banana loaf, so I modified it to fit what I was looking for.  Here is the recipe:

  • 2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Baking Flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 c coconut oil, with more for the pan
  • 2/3 c agave nectar
  • 2/3 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 medium zucchinis, peeled and grated
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees,  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, cinnamon.  Add 1/2 c coconut oil, agave nectar, almond milk, and vanilla to the dry ingredients. Stir until the batter is smooth. Using a spatula, fold in the shredded zucchini and chocolate chips until evenly distributed throughout the batter.  Pour into pan, and bake for about 25 minutes or until cooked all the way through.

Leave a Reply

