Ombre Birthday.

Last Saturday, friends and I gathered to celebrate the birthday of one of my closest friends.  My contribution to the festivities was an ombre style birthday cake (which stems from my obsession with anything ombre).  I chose to use a blue color scheme, and the results (although I was a bit stressed) could not have turned out more perfectly.

I used a plain white cake recipe, that can be found here, which i separated into three round cake pans, adding varying drops of blue food coloring to achieve the ombre look.  For the bottom layer, I used about 14 drops of food color, to get that rich, royal blue.  For the middle layer, I used about 8 and for the top about 4 so that I could achieve that distinct difference in color.   To finish, I stacked each section, each separated by a thick layer of white chocolate buttercream.

2013-01-25 20.56.03 IMG_1937 IMG_1936 IMG_1932

One thought on “Ombre Birthday.

Leave a Reply

